Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 58

Thread: Wideband kits?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13,462
    Rep Points
    58.0
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No

    Wideband kits?

    is this all i need or what else has to be purchased?

    http://www.aemelectronics.com/wideba...fuel-gauge-25/

    "Digital Wideband Air / Fuel Gauge
    A wideband UEGO sensor controller accurately monitors Air/Fuel ratios (AFR) during the tuning process to prevent a lean fuel mixture, which could lead to engine damage. AEM has combined its single-channel wideband UEGO controller and gauge display into one unit, uniting unsurpassed AFR accuracy and control with an easy-to-read interface. AEM’s Gauge-Type Wideband UEGO Controller features a digital LED display and sweeping LED “needle” that changes colors as AFR changes from rich to lean. The unit’s 52mm (2-1/16”) gauge housing fits in most gauge pods and can be remotely mounted virtually anywhere.

    Ideal AFR monitoring tool for EFI and carbureted applications, and engine dynamometers
    Does not oscillate AFR reading like narrow band sensors
    No laptop required for monitoring!
    Bosch sensor includedAccurate to 0.1 AFR
    Reads in AFR or Lambda via a switch in back of gauge housing
    24 Color-coded LED display lights provide immediate reference to engine’s air/fuel ratio (AFR) or Lambda ratio
    Integrated three-digit display reveals AFR or Lambda in real time
    User-programmable 0-5v analog output included for use with data loggers and virtually any engine management system
    Serial data stream included for output of AFR (RS 232)"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    1,735
    Rep Points
    826.2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    9


    Yes Reputation No
    I was going to get this but Terry said the g4 can display afr so I'll just pocket the 200 bucks plus installation
    JB4LIFE

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13,462
    Rep Points
    58.0
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    i keep hearing we already have widebands? when was this discovered and where is it documented?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    la la land
    Posts
    302
    Rep Points
    256.1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3


    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    The OEM O2 sensors are wideband, no idea what you need to directly read from them, though.

    I had a Zeitronix wideband on my Evo and it was a great piece. I wouldn't own a modified forced induction car without a wideband with a display on the dashboard plus the capability to do datalogging. The Zeitronix has inputs for a MAP sensor for monitoring boost as well as an input for an EGT probe. If you log all of that data off the Zeitronix plus your timing advance, knock detection, etc off of the ECU you can get a pretty good picture of what's going on inside of your engine.
    Last edited by fstop7; 10-10-2010 at 12:36 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    1,735
    Rep Points
    826.2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    9


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by LostMarine Click here to enlarge
    i keep hearing we already have widebands? when was this discovered and where is it documented?
    Not much has been talked about them, I think we can log them with the bt tool
    JB4LIFE

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    108
    Rep Points
    146.8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Yes Reputation No
    Subscribed....

    If the OE sensors are wideband and readable, that's great. If not, I've had very good experiences with the Innovate product in other applications.

    Dan

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    1,528
    Rep Points
    1,177.6
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Yes Reputation No
    with the V4 you can already log both 02 widebands . i have an AEM AFR/EGT wireless kit sitting at home now. gonna sell it i think or just use the EGT part of it.
    07 335i AT - MOTIV 750 - MHD BMS E85 - BMS PI - JB4G5 - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - Helix IC - Stett CP - Custom midpipes with 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - LUX H8 - Level 10 AT upgrade
    Click here to enlarge

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
    Posts
    3,106
    Rep Points
    1,236.6
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    13


    Yes Reputation No
    Damn, I didn't realize we could pull A/F ratios from the car with factory hardware, awesome!

    Terry, definitely have this on the upcoming PRO board release!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    1,528
    Rep Points
    1,177.6
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    here you can see my AFR under Channel CanKnock
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    07 335i AT - MOTIV 750 - MHD BMS E85 - BMS PI - JB4G5 - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - Helix IC - Stett CP - Custom midpipes with 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - LUX H8 - Level 10 AT upgrade
    Click here to enlarge

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Miami, FL.
    Posts
    1,888
    Rep Points
    771.0
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    Yes Reputation No
    reading afr off the oil gauge is easy Click here to enlarge and it should be accurate, since it reads which ever side is more lean i believe, i dont think it combines the two and gives an average. shiv just released IAT and ign. adv. for displayable parameters too. i dont know the scales for those yet though. doesnt bms have something similar to change the gauge's function? does cp-e have the can integration for it yet?
    Click here to enlarge
    2007 335i Coupe
    Mods: Check the Garage

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    25
    Rep Points
    15.4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    I would like to see EGT probes being sold and implemented by each tuning company. This could be for the 'most advanced' users, but I think many people would like one just for safety/tuning purposes. How hard would it be for each tune to accept a 0-5v input reading from the EGT gauge, and setup safety measures off of that?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    108
    Rep Points
    146.8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Yes Reputation No
    EGT is a great tuning tool.
    It's a measurement necessary for developing a safe tune (ensure exhaust valves don't burn, spot high cylinder temps before the onset of autoignition), but alone, it is insufficient for safe guarding an engine.
    BrianMN, I know you're not suggesting it's the only safeguard and I agree that it'd be a great addition. In fact, I wouldn't turn up the boost without reliable wideband, EGT, and knock measurement.
    Dan

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    28
    Rep Points
    16.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    You need a separate wideband. Trying to read from a wideband that you are biasing is not exactly accurate, no matter how much people insist it is.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Beltsville, MD
    Posts
    238
    Rep Points
    285.1
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3


    Yes Reputation No
    LostMarine - please please please get a wideband...that aem is fine...thats what i run in my car...I am not saying Shiv and Terry aren't showing accurate afr but thats not something I would read out via canbus after all swaying of them to achieve desired afr's.
    Custom Performance Engineering
    www.cp-e.com
    BMW N54/N55 | Forced Induction | Direct Injection Specialists

    Supporting BMW 1M | 135i | 335i | 535i and more

    Facebook: www.facebook.com/gocpe
    Twitter: http://twitter.com/gocpe
    youtube: http://www.youtube.com/CustomPerformanceEng

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Beltsville, MD
    Posts
    238
    Rep Points
    285.1
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    OddJob - our tune offers full canbus integration. it has for a very long time. we simply do not feel that you should base your afr readings off the factory widebands for tuning purposes. They voltages are being modified to affect afr's so an aftermarket wideband is what we recommend.

    I will be posting more info on our tune shortly as we have made rediculous progress with AR design and the car is a BEAST. When Andrew feels it is ready for the public to see how much power we've been putting down I will post up data and info. We have a few upgraded twin turbo cars coming in for some tunes as well.

    Our tune is so powerful because we actually let you fine tune the car EVERYWHERE on 30x30 maps for ignition, fueling, fuel psi, boost, etc. so the car runs exactly what you tell it to. you always hear about cars going to get dyno tuned and street tuned - thats because thats how you make reliable power - now you have that ability on your n54.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,166
    Rep Points
    1,746.4
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    18


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by www.cp-e.com Click here to enlarge
    OddJob - our tune offers full canbus integration. it has for a very long time. we simply do not feel that you should base your afr readings off the factory widebands for tuning purposes. They voltages are being modified to affect afr's so an aftermarket wideband is what we recommend.

    I will be posting more info on our tune shortly as we have made rediculous progress with AR design and the car is a BEAST. When Andrew feels it is ready for the public to see how much power we've been putting down I will post up data and info. We have a few upgraded twin turbo cars coming in for some tunes as well.

    Our tune is so powerful because we actually let you fine tune the car EVERYWHERE on 30x30 maps for ignition, fueling, fuel psi, boost, etc. so the car runs exactly what you tell it to. you always hear about cars going to get dyno tuned and street tuned - thats because thats how you make reliable power - now you have that ability on your n54.
    thats really cool cant wait to see your guys results when you post em.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13,462
    Rep Points
    58.0
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by www.cp-e.com Click here to enlarge
    LostMarine - please please please get a wideband...that aem is fine...thats what i run in my car...I am not saying Shiv and Terry aren't showing accurate afr but thats not something I would read out via canbus after all swaying of them to achieve desired afr's.
    yea, working on ordering that in the very near future



    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by www.cp-e.com Click here to enlarge
    OddJob - our tune offers full canbus integration. it has for a very long time. we simply do not feel that you should base your afr readings off the factory widebands for tuning purposes. They voltages are being modified to affect afr's so an aftermarket wideband is what we recommend.

    I will be posting more info on our tune shortly as we have made rediculous progress with AR design and the car is a BEAST. When Andrew feels it is ready for the public to see how much power we've been putting down I will post up data and info. We have a few upgraded twin turbo cars coming in for some tunes as well.

    Our tune is so powerful because we actually let you fine tune the car EVERYWHERE on 30x30 maps for ignition, fueling, fuel psi, boost, etc. so the car runs exactly what you tell it to. you always hear about cars going to get dyno tuned and street tuned - thats because thats how you make reliable power - now you have that ability on your n54.
    oh really!? sounds like fun!!

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Miami, FL.
    Posts
    1,888
    Rep Points
    771.0
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by www.cp-e.com Click here to enlarge
    OddJob - our tune offers full canbus integration. it has for a very long time. we simply do not feel that you should base your afr readings off the factory widebands for tuning purposes. They voltages are being modified to affect afr's so an aftermarket wideband is what we recommend.
    thanks for the reply cp-e. i knew you were can read/write capable but didnt see you guys post anything about in-dash gauges so i wrote what i did. as a matter of fact, i havnt read many updates on the standback2 let alone AR's car. i am looking forward to your update as im sure everyone else is. and im even more curious about the upp'd turbo n54's on your tune, dont keep us waiting too long!
    Click here to enlarge
    2007 335i Coupe
    Mods: Check the Garage

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13,462
    Rep Points
    58.0
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by oddjob2021 Click here to enlarge
    thanks for the reply cp-e. i knew you were can read/write capable but didnt see you guys post anything about in-dash gauges so i wrote what i did. as a matter of fact, i havnt read many updates on the standback2 let alone AR's car. i am looking forward to your update as im sure everyone else is. and im even more curious about the upp'd turbo n54's on your tune, dont keep us waiting too long!
    im sure they wont Click here to enlarge

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    1,745
    Rep Points
    1,330.4
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14


    Yes Reputation No
    Does anyone know how to install the AEM boost gauge and AEM air/fuel ratio gauge? I cant find instructions ANYWHERE.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    119,425
    Rep Points
    32,105.3
    Mentioned
    2106 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    322


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Gbreee90 Click here to enlarge
    Does anyone know how to install the AEM boost gauge and AEM air/fuel ratio gauge? I cant find instructions ANYWHERE.
    This isn't for the AEM but should still help you: http://www.rixeffects.com/files/RiXe...%20Install.pdf

    Stage 2 or 2.5 E9X M3 S65 V8 supercharger kit for sale
    : http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...r-kit-for-sale

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Valley Stream NY
    Posts
    3,350
    Rep Points
    2,779.7
    Mentioned
    85 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    28


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    You are going to need to weld a separate bung into the down pipe for the wideband sensor. The farther away the better. If you can do it right by the flange ideally this would be the best location.

    As for EGT monitoring, there is a gauge that displays 2 egts at once. I plan to implement this into Dans car at some point as it worked really well with the Porsches.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    1,745
    Rep Points
    1,330.4
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Matt@Camber-Toe Click here to enlarge
    You are going to need to weld a separate bung into the down pipe for the wideband sensor. The farther away the better. If you can do it right by the flange ideally this would be the best location.

    As for EGT monitoring, there is a gauge that displays 2 egts at once. I plan to implement this into Dans car at some point as it worked really well with the Porsches.
    Oh, I didnt know it required welding, I will probably just get the bms boost gauge.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    262
    Rep Points
    161.8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Yes Reputation No
    I know that CBR335 has them on his downpipes. Maybe pm him to see how the install went. I know the shop that did it for him here in San Diego. Let me know if you don't have luck finding out more and I'll ask for the details sooner vs. later as I'm going to be doing this mod as well.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    262
    Rep Points
    161.8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Yes Reputation No
    Edit - that is if you decide that you are going to do it as recommended Click here to enlarge

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •