Close

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Yes Reputation No

Newbie here... few questions about 335i

I am in the process of selling my 2005 CTS-V (sale should be official this weekend). I plan on picking up a 2008 335i coupe and am very excited! I just had a few questions. Some of these questions have been answered in other posts indirectly, but just wanted to get some hard-core answers.

I am going to put a JB3 tune and intake on it and was wondering if the JB3 tune would change the fuel enconomy especially on the highway under normal driving circumstances.

Also, did you guys notice a huge gain (seat of pants experience) once you put the tune in your N54's? When I put headers, full exhaust..no cats, and a tune on my CTS-V for a gain of 50 horsepower, I noticed a bit of a difference in the acceleration. I can only imagine the change that I will feel after bolting on 100hp and 100 ft/tq!!! But, did not know if I would notice a huge difference since every car drives differently.

Last question, I am going to buy a 335i that has been BMW certified so I can buy with confidence. My friend is a mechanic at BMW and I asked him that once I remove the tune would they be able to detect that it has been modified. He told me that they would not be able to tell at the dealership, but they have to upload the computer info and send it to the "big guys" so they can approve the warranty work espeically if it is a big claim. He told me that he has no idea if the "big guys" had the capability to read into the program to see if its been tampered with even with the tune removed. I do not want to put a tune in it and then have the motor blow up and then be screwed with a gigantic claim that BMW will not cover! I know the tunes are very safe, but I still want to be careful.

Thanks in advance!!!

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)

2 out of 2 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No