Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 26
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Mars, Gale Crater
    Posts
    873
    Rep Points
    682.4
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7


    2 out of 4 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No

    Code help - Fuel Pressure and Crankshaft Sensor

    Yesterday i was out doing some logs, did a few short pulls and one long pull for virtual dyno. Everything was fine during the pulls, but about 1-2 minutes later when I was getting off the mexican highway under very light load the car hiccuped and went into limp mode with these codes:

    29F1 (fuel pressure, plausibility)
    2A94 (crankshaft sensor, signal)

    Has anyone run in to this before?
    335xi (sold)
    www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive datalogs

    Click here to enlarge

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Simi Valley, CA
    Posts
    8,007
    Rep Points
    8,959.4
    Mentioned
    633 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    90


    2 out of 3 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Probably a procede issue. Contact Shiv for help.
    Burger Motorsports
    Home of the Worlds fastest N20s, N54s, N55s, N63s, S55s, and S63s!

    It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please see http://www.burgertuning.com/emissions_info.html for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    McHenry, IL
    Posts
    5,257
    Rep Points
    26.0
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    0 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Terry@BMS Click here to enlarge
    Probably a procede issue. Contact Shiv for help.
    For sure
    PTF PROTuned | RB's | AMS FMIC | AR DP's | HPF Exhaust | CP-E DCI | Apex Arc 8's | 235/275 Star Specs |

    Click here to enlarge


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Mars, Gale Crater
    Posts
    873
    Rep Points
    682.4
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Reputation: Yes | No
    I talked to him first, crank sensor code could be when power gets disrupted to the procede. I'm posting because I'd like to see if people have run in to these codes for other reasons. I'm not looking for people to bash just because I run a procede. I'm looking for actual advice if you've had one or either of these codes before. ie.. Is that sensor a known problem? i've seen that people have had to replace it before but nothing very widespread.
    335xi (sold)
    www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive datalogs

    Click here to enlarge

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,826
    Rep Points
    31,567.3
    Mentioned
    2065 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Well I mean it's true Shiv should help but bump to get you more answers.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Mars, Gale Crater
    Posts
    873
    Rep Points
    682.4
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Reputation: Yes | No
    He was the first person I talked to - and he did help: a loss of power/bad connection could throw the CPS code/limp mode type of situation. That was the first time it ever happened, and it hasn't happened since.

    That being said, the whole point of posting was to see if others had ever run in to one or both of the codes for other reasons. Just covering all my bases.
    335xi (sold)
    www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive datalogs

    Click here to enlarge

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    England
    Posts
    523
    Rep Points
    582.2
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Have you just installed the procede? I know this can occur with a bad connection.
    Click here to enlarge
    335i ~ JB4 ~ BMS ~ DCI ~ Active Autowerks CP & BOV ~ Borla Catback Exhaust

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Mars, Gale Crater
    Posts
    873
    Rep Points
    682.4
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Nope, it's been installed for a very long time now. That's why I thought maybe it was something unrelated to the bad connection that people sometimes have
    335xi (sold)
    www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive datalogs

    Click here to enlarge

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Roanoke VA
    Posts
    1,632
    Rep Points
    2,248.3
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    23


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Sorry man, I've never had either code. Since they both occurred at the same time but are on unrelated systems I would also suspect the PROcede as a cause, whether it be through a bad connection or something else going on.


    OT: WTF is up with all the neg rep on the OP? If someone can't ask for the help of the community what good are we?
    Click here to enlarge
    MOTIV750, MOTIV P-1000 PI, MOTIV/FUEL-IT! low pressure fuel system, AEM EMS/COBB AP, Aquamist HFS-3, ETS FMIC, SPEC stage 3+ clutch/SS flywheel, BC Racing coilovers and VMR wheels wrapped in Hankook RS3s.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Mars, Gale Crater
    Posts
    873
    Rep Points
    682.4
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Reputation: Yes | No
    I really expected no less from this forum. It still couldn't hurt to check if anyone else had seen the codes
    335xi (sold)
    www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive datalogs

    Click here to enlarge

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Hayward, CA
    Posts
    7,907
    Rep Points
    3,899.8
    Mentioned
    320 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by jpsimon Click here to enlarge
    Yesterday i was out doing some logs, did a few short pulls and one long pull for virtual dyno. Everything was fine during the pulls, but about 1-2 minutes later when I was getting off the mexican highway under very light load the car hiccuped and went into limp mode with these codes:

    29F1 (fuel pressure, plausibility)
    2A94 (crankshaft sensor, signal)

    Has anyone run in to this before?
    Well its funny you post those codes. I had those 2 codes along with a few others on Turbo Mikes car 2 days ago, I pulled my hair out trying to find them. Spoke to Jake and he said he had seen that one time before and it was a fuse. I was like eff that no fuse will cause this, and kept pulling stuff off trying to find it. Finally when I am about to throw stuff, I pulled the fuse panel and checked every ECU fuse, #11 I think it was, was blown, replaced car purred like a kitten. Im gonna say, look at every ECU fuse. What was doing was, would limp right on start up, and just run bad, clear it out, limp would come right back.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Mars, Gale Crater
    Posts
    873
    Rep Points
    682.4
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Interesting, thanks for the info. My car is going to the dealer tomorrow morning for the battery cable recall. They take out the fuse box to do the fix so I'll just tell my buddy to check it out.

    If it was a blown fuse wouldn't the car continue to not behave correctly? After clearing the codes and starting the car back up everything worked fine. Are fuses a black/white issue? by that i mean, can a fuse be starting to "fail" or is it just working 100% or blown, no grey area?
    335xi (sold)
    www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive datalogs

    Click here to enlarge

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    215
    Rep Points
    331.7
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    4


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by jpsimon Click here to enlarge
    Nope, it's been installed for a very long time now. That's why I thought maybe it was something unrelated to the bad connection that people sometimes have
    +Rep, you've been a contributor to the community in a positive way so it doesn't matter what tune or turbo you run.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Hayward, CA
    Posts
    7,907
    Rep Points
    3,899.8
    Mentioned
    320 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    If you cleared it and it went back to normal it is not a blown fuse. Mine issue refused to go away, until I found the fuse. It is kinda funny everyone asked me if I was running a procede on the car too when I brought my codes to them. I could not believe one fuse would throw many codes, the car had about 4 more codes in it on top of those, ALL unrelated to each other.. haha

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Roanoke VA
    Posts
    1,632
    Rep Points
    2,248.3
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    23


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by jpsimon Click here to enlarge
    Interesting, thanks for the info. My car is going to the dealer tomorrow morning for the battery cable recall. They take out the fuse box to do the fix so I'll just tell my buddy to check it out.

    If it was a blown fuse wouldn't the car continue to not behave correctly? After clearing the codes and starting the car back up everything worked fine. Are fuses a black/white issue? by that i mean, can a fuse be starting to "fail" or is it just working 100% or blown, no grey area?
    When a fuse "blows" it blows. That's their purpose. If the code disappears then i doubt it's a fuse.

    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by NJrep335i Click here to enlarge
    +Rep, you've been a contributor to the community in a positive way so it doesn't matter what tune or turbo you run.
    true story.
    Click here to enlarge
    MOTIV750, MOTIV P-1000 PI, MOTIV/FUEL-IT! low pressure fuel system, AEM EMS/COBB AP, Aquamist HFS-3, ETS FMIC, SPEC stage 3+ clutch/SS flywheel, BC Racing coilovers and VMR wheels wrapped in Hankook RS3s.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Mars, Gale Crater
    Posts
    873
    Rep Points
    682.4
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Alright it's most likely not the fuse then. Probably a power issue to the piggy, so far it still hasn't come back. First time it ever happened in 95k miles
    335xi (sold)
    www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive datalogs

    Click here to enlarge

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Mars, Gale Crater
    Posts
    873
    Rep Points
    682.4
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by NJrep335i Click here to enlarge
    +Rep, you've been a contributor to the community in a positive way so it doesn't matter what tune or turbo you run.
    thanks dude Click here to enlarge
    335xi (sold)
    www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive datalogs

    Click here to enlarge

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Simi Valley, CA
    Posts
    8,007
    Rep Points
    8,959.4
    Mentioned
    633 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    90


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Oops wrong thread. Moving this post. Click here to enlarge
    Last edited by Terry@BMS; 04-19-2013 at 12:17 PM.
    Burger Motorsports
    Home of the Worlds fastest N20s, N54s, N55s, N63s, S55s, and S63s!

    It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please see http://www.burgertuning.com/emissions_info.html for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,826
    Rep Points
    31,567.3
    Mentioned
    2065 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    0 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by jpsimon Click here to enlarge
    Interesting, thanks for the info.
    Expect no less from this forum eh?

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Mars, Gale Crater
    Posts
    873
    Rep Points
    682.4
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    Expect no less from this forum eh?
    Correct, on this forum I fully expect to be bashed at the drop of a hat because the word "procede" is in my sig.
    335xi (sold)
    www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive datalogs

    Click here to enlarge

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    566
    Rep Points
    577.0
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by jpsimon Click here to enlarge
    Alright it's most likely not the fuse then. Probably a power issue to the piggy, so far it still hasn't come back. First time it ever happened in 95k miles
    well it could be not more than a coincidence related to power sequencing/timing issue in the piggy. Could happen really with any microcontroller... it just happened that at that specific time when you turned your ignition and then car on you hit a special case in the microcode.

    Of course, if it's persistent then something is wrong and it's not what I just explained.

    Hopefully it's gone
    SOLD --'07 E90 335i, PTF COBB E50, HFS4, ER CP, ETS 7", AA DP, Vishnu Exhaust, DCI, ACT, Nitto Nt555

    '10 E92 335i M, 6MT COBB v3, ER IC, ER CP, VRSF DP, Fuel-it st2
    installing soon: Mfactory LSD, , powerflex subrframe bushings

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Mars, Gale Crater
    Posts
    873
    Rep Points
    682.4
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Reputation: Yes | No
    yeah it still hasn't happened again
    335xi (sold)
    www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive datalogs

    Click here to enlarge

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    566
    Rep Points
    577.0
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by jpsimon Click here to enlarge
    yeah it still hasn't happened again
    That's good, fingers crossed
    SOLD --'07 E90 335i, PTF COBB E50, HFS4, ER CP, ETS 7", AA DP, Vishnu Exhaust, DCI, ACT, Nitto Nt555

    '10 E92 335i M, 6MT COBB v3, ER IC, ER CP, VRSF DP, Fuel-it st2
    installing soon: Mfactory LSD, , powerflex subrframe bushings

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,826
    Rep Points
    31,567.3
    Mentioned
    2065 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by jpsimon Click here to enlarge
    Correct, on this forum I fully expect to be bashed at the drop of a hat because the word "procede" is in my sig.
    If you don't specifically mention it I don't think anyone even cares.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    1,527
    Rep Points
    1,177.6
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Terry@BMS Click here to enlarge
    Probably a procede issue. Contact Shiv for help.
    LOL is this a joke? Shiv helping someone ?
    07 335i AT - MOTIV 750 - MHD BMS E85 - BMS PI - JB4G5 - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - Helix IC - Stett CP - Custom midpipes with 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - LUX H8 - Level 10 AT upgrade
    Click here to enlarge

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •