Close

Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    Posts
    253
    Rep Points
    417.9
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    2 out of 4 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No

    Quick help for vrsf intercooler install please

    I have clamps that come with the intercooler but they do not fit over the intercooler or stock connectors. Do I just use the stock connectors with the metal clamps that are already there? The intercooler has slots that fit the metal clamps perfectly.

    2008 135i n54

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    FLORIDA BITCHES
    Posts
    247
    Rep Points
    805.2
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    9


    Yes Reputation No
    they don't fit? have you loosened them all the way? can't reuse stock ones they are 1 time use clips.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    FLORIDA BITCHES
    Posts
    247
    Rep Points
    805.2
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    9


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge
    you need to place clips before you put piping together, then tighten down is what i can think your doing wrong. or go and get worm clamps from pep boys /auto zone.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    Posts
    253
    Rep Points
    417.9
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5



    Yes Reputation No
    Ok well I only got two clamps in the box not four and no boots. I asked tiago at vrsf several times if I had what was needed. So what options do I have here?

    edit; by boots I mean I wasn't provided with the black piping shown in the picture above.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    Posts
    253
    Rep Points
    417.9
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5



    Yes Reputation No
    I'm just at lunch but I'm going to run by the local auto store and try to get new clips and see how that works. Sorry if this was a useless thread but I just realized the intercooler has slotted holes that fit the clips perfectly.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    FLORIDA BITCHES
    Posts
    247
    Rep Points
    805.2
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    9


    Yes Reputation No
    call and tell them your missing em they'll send you them. always here great things about there customer service.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    FLORIDA BITCHES
    Posts
    247
    Rep Points
    805.2
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    9


    Yes Reputation No
    this pic is from there 7" option not sure if there 5" is any different for clamps

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    Posts
    253
    Rep Points
    417.9
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5



    Yes Reputation No
    Yep I got 7". Now I have the last version of the intercooler not the newest version. When I asked tiago a while ago he said "The factory like connectors are actually on the intercooler itself Click here to enlarge" when I told him I only received two t bolt clamps and 2 screws in the box. Should I just get some new clips and run the piping from the car into the intercooler and clamp it? Like I said the intercooler has slots that fit the clips perfectly like the stock intercooler - I'm just confused as to why I have the t bolt clamps as they are useless if I reuse the clips for the connections...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    FLORIDA BITCHES
    Posts
    247
    Rep Points
    805.2
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    9


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge
    this is the very 1st 7" from over at nazipost

    I don't think it will work like the stock setup, don't take my word for it.
    call an ask id say, if not try and get the same size hoses.
    id get it done right the first time and avoid headaches of doing it all again.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    18
    Rep Points
    17.8
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    I would think that if it fits the stock ic hoses then you wouldn't need the clamps. It would probably install like the hpf intercooler that uses the stock connectors.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Tallahassee
    Posts
    1,484
    Rep Points
    -18.8
    Mentioned
    34 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    If it clips in using the stock connectors, you don't need any piping or clamps. If it dousn't, you need two silicon hoses and 4 clamps

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    215
    Rep Points
    472.2
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by E90Company Click here to enlarge
    If it clips in using the stock connectors, you don't need any piping or clamps. If it dousn't, you need two silicon hoses and 4 clamps

    Yes, and to add, 2 of the t-bolt clamps are a little smaller than the other 2. Make sure you get them on right.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    Posts
    253
    Rep Points
    417.9
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5



    Yes Reputation No
    I have the stock connector option. Sorry guys I'm just not that mechanically inclined and had a brain fart! Thanks for the quick responses

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    Posts
    253
    Rep Points
    417.9
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5



    Yes Reputation No
    My confusion came from the box having t clamps and not the stock clips. They provided me with the wrong stuff for install.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    FLORIDA BITCHES
    Posts
    247
    Rep Points
    805.2
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    9


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    post a picture of what you have.

    you dont have hoses you said correct?

    take one of the end tanks, so we can see the connection.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    Posts
    253
    Rep Points
    417.9
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by crazylegs Click here to enlarge
    post a picture of what you have.

    you dont have hoses you said correct?

    take one of the end tanks, so we can see the connection.
    got it finished up it just re uses the clips from the stock piping. I was confused as the box included t clamps and not the stock-like clips. We got new gaskets and re used the original clips. Ran it hard for the last hour and had no issues.

    Thanks for the quick responses.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •