Close

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 39 of 39
  1. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    over there
    Posts
    288
    Rep Points
    481.1
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5



    Yes Reputation No
    Ive driven big turbo cars before that's not an issue and im going for 750-800whp and i want a turbo that wont be maxed out there. Imo it can be done on stock block how long will it last we shall see or hopefully we don't but if it blows up itll just be rebuilt stronger
    Turbo lag is the on ramp to the highway which is power.

  2. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Boynton Beach, FL
    Posts
    1,209
    Rep Points
    1,449.2
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Bw housings are large. I don't think it will fit. I really don't think there is a chance of getting a bw efr in there at all. Speaking in terms of a bottom mount setup.

  3. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Clarksville, TN
    Posts
    3,902
    Rep Points
    2,483.5
    Mentioned
    44 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    25


    Yes Reputation No
    I def agree top mount is the way to go ESP to run larger turbos
    2011 335is DCT, JB4 + MHD BEF, stage 2 LPFP, e50 + 50/50 meth, FBO, MT ET Streets when needed


  4. #29
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,218
    Rep Points
    2,201.9
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    23


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by WDBi Click here to enlarge
    I understand it wont spool quickly but i would just like it to spool the fastest a turbo making that power can.

    I have come to a decision that a 35r is too small i want the turbo to be able to make 800whp and i dont want to be maxing a turbo out. There is alot of good word about the 6466 http://www.supraforums.com/forum/sho...precision-6466

    so right now im between the 6466, 6766 but i think i would prefer a 6466 over the 6766, That borg warner efr 8374 looks nice but arent those turbos alot bigger than a equivalently sized precision?, and maybe a bigger hta?
    Lol@36psi!
    Change is constant

  5. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3
    Rep Points
    0.3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Well good luck, tuning is gonna be a challenge. And if you think this will all be on a stock engine you're crazy.

  6. #31
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Clarksville, TN
    Posts
    3,902
    Rep Points
    2,483.5
    Mentioned
    44 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    25


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Uiop Click here to enlarge
    Well good luck, tuning is gonna be a challenge. And if you think this will all be on a stock engine you're crazy.
    Why is he crazy? Do you know what the limit of the stock internal are? If so we'd all love to know. you can tune pretty much anything to not blow up right away. A big turbo is going to be laggy so it's not going to have a bunch of TQ down low. Guess what, HP doesn't kill engines, TQ does. The engine will have less stress on it probably than a car with RBs pushing them to the max. The RB car will have much more TQ down low and EGT/BFSC will be much higher on the RB car. Look at the TQ Dzenno put down on his RB car. It didn't explode with well over 600TQ. No one knows how long that would last but no single is going to put that kind of TQ down especially down low. I'm pretty confident an 800HP single turbo car would be fine on stock internals as long as the turbo was in its efficiency range.
    2011 335is DCT, JB4 + MHD BEF, stage 2 LPFP, e50 + 50/50 meth, FBO, MT ET Streets when needed


  7. #32
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    over there
    Posts
    288
    Rep Points
    481.1
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by bigdnno98 Click here to enlarge
    Why is he crazy? Do you know what the limit of the stock internal are? If so we'd all love to know. you can tune pretty much anything to not blow up right away. A big turbo is going to be laggy so it's not going to have a bunch of TQ down low. Guess what, HP doesn't kill engines, TQ does. The engine will have less stress on it probably than a car with RBs pushing them to the max. The RB car will have much more TQ down low and EGT/BFSC will be much higher on the RB car. Look at the TQ Dzenno put down on his RB car. It didn't explode with well over 600TQ. No one knows how long that would last but no single is going to put that kind of TQ down especially down low. I'm pretty confident an 800HP single turbo car would be fine on stock internals as long as the turbo was in its efficiency range.

    +1 if everyone is crazy for trying to make power platforms would go no where i don't see any reason thus motor can't hold at least 750whp
    Turbo lag is the on ramp to the highway which is power.

  8. #33
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    376
    Rep Points
    707.1
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    Yes Reputation No
    The amount of $ spent trying to hit 800whp is going to be so large that swapping in one or even two turbos or AR changes is not going to impact the budget that much. I'd suggest listening to bigdnno98 and rudypoochris and plan on actually aiming for spool first and hp second. When you hit your spool goal and are prob within 100whp of your hp goal, make a turbo/AR change to land you where you want to be.

    Good luck in any case!

  9. #34
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1,927
    Rep Points
    1,376.8
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by WDBi Click here to enlarge
    Ive driven big turbo cars before that's not an issue and im going for 750-800whp and i want a turbo that wont be maxed out there. Imo it can be done on stock block how long will it last we shall see or hopefully we don't but if it blows up itll just be rebuilt stronger
    Just do it!

  10. #35
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    4,198
    Rep Points
    1,802.9
    Mentioned
    102 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    19


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by BavarianBullet Click here to enlarge
    The amount of $ spent trying to hit 800whp is going to be so large that swapping in one or even two turbos or AR changes is not going to impact the budget that much. I'd suggest listening to bigdnno98 and rudypoochris and plan on actually aiming for spool first and hp second. When you hit your spool goal and are prob within 100whp of your hp goal, make a turbo/AR change to land you where you want to be.

    Good luck in any case!
    It's his car, if he wants to get max power (which consequentially means lots of lag & a shorter powerband) then it's his call. If the engine detonates, he has no one to blame but himself. Personally I'd prefer stock like powerband that only a small single or two reasonably sized TTs can offer, but to each's own.
    COBB AP ProTune by Bren of ///Bren Tuning
    Akrapovic DP | Helix FMIC | Alpina TCM Flash | Walbro 450LPH Fuel Pump


    "The moment money becomes your motivation, you are immediately not as good as someone who is motivated by passion and internal will." -A. Senna

  11. #36
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    The world...
    Posts
    1,331
    Rep Points
    1,202.2
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    13


    Yes Reputation No
    honestly... if skinrock drops the price of the hardware another grand and decides to sell it for $4k, whoever buys it would get a hell of a deal... then have Terry or Dzenno protune it w either tune on pump gas to gain max safe power and move forward from there...
    2007 335i (100% stock with mods)

    N54 is not a German 2JZ lol

  12. #37
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Clarksville, TN
    Posts
    3,902
    Rep Points
    2,483.5
    Mentioned
    44 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    25


    Yes Reputation No
    Only problem is that he said that is a "AT" kit and it would cost another $1k to convert it to MT. I'm not sure why. Seems like if you're just buying the hardware MT/AT shouldn't matter huh? IDK. Would be pretty pointless though for an AT to buy it as all the AT guys are having issues. I agree though, buy the hardware for $4k and slap a JB4 + BMS flash on it and see how it goes. 6MT people anyways.

    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Q4P Click here to enlarge
    honestly... if skinrock drops the price of the hardware another grand and decides to sell it for $4k, whoever buys it would get a hell of a deal... then have Terry or Dzenno protune it w either tune on pump gas to gain max safe power and move forward from there...
    2011 335is DCT, JB4 + MHD BEF, stage 2 LPFP, e50 + 50/50 meth, FBO, MT ET Streets when needed


  13. #38
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    884
    Rep Points
    1,435.3
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    15


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by bigdnno98 Click here to enlarge
    Only problem is that he said that is a "AT" kit and it would cost another $1k to convert it to MT. I'm not sure why. Seems like if you're just buying the hardware MT/AT shouldn't matter huh? IDK. Would be pretty pointless though for an AT to buy it as all the AT guys are having issues. I agree though, buy the hardware for $4k and slap a JB4 + BMS flash on it and see how it goes. 6MT people anyways.
    That's weird its 6at specific? When you go on vishnus website there's no option for 6at or 6mt or anything showing the 6at kit to be $1000 cheaper?

  14. #39
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    191
    Rep Points
    208.5
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by bigdnno98 Click here to enlarge
    Only problem is that he said that is a "AT" kit and it would cost another $1k to convert it to MT. I'm not sure why. Seems like if you're just buying the hardware MT/AT shouldn't matter huh? IDK. Would be pretty pointless though for an AT to buy it as all the AT guys are having issues. I agree though, buy the hardware for $4k and slap a JB4 + BMS flash on it and see how it goes. 6MT people anyways.
    I think its just the turbo size, the AT kit uses the 58mm turbo, the MT kit uses the 62mm.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •