Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 47

Thread: New Map sensor?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    78
    Rep Points
    162.7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Reputation: Yes | No

    New Map sensor?

    Is the new 4 cylinder pushing more boost than our N54?
    Why all this talk about the N20 map sensor?
    If it is, what do tuners like BMS, Vishnu and Cobb have to do to get them to work with our ECU?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Simi Valley, CA
    Posts
    8,006
    Rep Points
    8,957.3
    Mentioned
    633 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    90


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Our N2O motor should be here next so I'll poke around more then. But the piggybacks can use any 3bar. Maybe that one is a nice cheap way to go if it's really 3bar.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,751
    Rep Points
    31,550.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    What is the talk on the N20 map sensor and what is special about it?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    4,608
    Rep Points
    3,236.6
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    33


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    What is the talk on the N20 map sensor and what is special about it?
    probably that it can be used past 21 psi
    Some people live long, meaningful lives.

    Other people eat shit and die.

    I'm not racist, I hate everybody equally; especially fat people.


    Click here to enlarge

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    4,608
    Rep Points
    3,236.6
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    33


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Terry@BMS Click here to enlarge
    Our N2O motor should be here next so I'll poke around more then. But the piggybacks can use any 3bar. Maybe that one is a nice cheap way to go if it's really 3bar.
    what kind of output signal does the N54 map sensor spit out?

    would it be impossible to slap a 3 bar GM map sensor on there if the output signals are the same?

    Or is it some crazy german signal that outputs $#@!ing messages buried in PWM and noise like in the movie contact.
    Some people live long, meaningful lives.

    Other people eat shit and die.

    I'm not racist, I hate everybody equally; especially fat people.


    Click here to enlarge

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,089
    Rep Points
    999.1
    Mentioned
    104 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    10


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by DBFIU Click here to enlarge
    probably that it can be used past 21 psi
    With isolated boost control you can exceed 21 psi on the original map sensor if you want, but the map sensor won't pick it up. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,089
    Rep Points
    999.1
    Mentioned
    104 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    10


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by DBFIU Click here to enlarge
    what kind of output signal does the N54 map sensor spit out?

    would it be impossible to slap a 3 bar GM map sensor on there if the output signals are the same?

    Or is it some crazy german signal that outputs $#@!ing messages buried in PWM and noise like in the movie contact.
    Its a 0-5v signal theoretically good for 22 psi, but the signal gets saturated around 4.75v which means it can only reliably read upwards of 20.7 psi.

    Source - Rob@Cobb

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    78
    Rep Points
    162.7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Does anybody know how much boost the n20 turbos pump?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Simi Valley, CA
    Posts
    8,006
    Rep Points
    8,957.3
    Mentioned
    633 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    90


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by DBFIU Click here to enlarge
    what kind of output signal does the N54 map sensor spit out?

    would it be impossible to slap a 3 bar GM map sensor on there if the output signals are the same?

    Or is it some crazy german signal that outputs $#@!ing messages buried in PWM and noise like in the movie contact.
    All map sensors output voltage. The piggyback reads that voltage, then outputs whatever voltage it wants back to the DME. So any 3 bar would do just fine.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,101
    Rep Points
    1,398.2
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Terry@BMS Click here to enlarge
    All map sensors output voltage. The piggyback reads that voltage, then outputs whatever voltage it wants back to the DME. So any 3 bar would do just fine.
    It would be nice if a new map sensor would work if the JB4 was in passthrough/map0 so the car can be taken in for simple service work to the dealer without removing the new sensor...
    Click here to enlarge
    997.1 tt
    Kline 200cell exhaust
    997.2/GT2RS IC's
    Cobb E85 custom stage3 tune by Mitch
    ID1000 injectors
    Sachs stage 2.5 clutch

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,751
    Rep Points
    31,550.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by ultimateracing335i Click here to enlarge
    Does anybody know how much boost the n20 turbos pump?
    Yes, info here and it is just one turbo: http://www.bimmerboost.com/content.p...N52-comparison

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Pretty sure I am in Mexico
    Posts
    918
    Rep Points
    930.0
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    10


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by xbox_fan Click here to enlarge
    It would be nice if a new map sensor would work if the JB4 was in passthrough/map0 so the car can be taken in for simple service work to the dealer without removing the new sensor...
    That is the only issue. But really....you aren't worried about map 0 if you are running a single turbo. Dealer ain't going to pass any drivetrain warranties. So really you just have to put it in map 0 if they need into the DME and you just tell the tech to his face not to drive it in that condition.
    Never thought I would see the day...
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Terry@BMS Click here to enlarge
    Life is so much more fun with a nemesis. I miss Shiv. Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,089
    Rep Points
    999.1
    Mentioned
    104 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    10


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by ultimateracing335i Click here to enlarge
    Does anybody know how much boost the n20 turbos pump?
    18 psi. Iirc, the F10 M5 cranks out 22 psi peak.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Simi Valley, CA
    Posts
    8,006
    Rep Points
    8,957.3
    Mentioned
    633 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    90


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by xbox_fan Click here to enlarge
    It would be nice if a new map sensor would work if the JB4 was in passthrough/map0 so the car can be taken in for simple service work to the dealer without removing the new sensor...
    Yes that would be no problem. Once you installed the 3bar you'd tell the JB4 you had a 3bar and it will react accordingly on all maps including pass through mode. We'll make a PNP adapter so it's an easy install. Just be aware a 3bar won't work without a JB4. Click here to enlarge

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    860
    Rep Points
    1,537.7
    Mentioned
    26 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    16


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    I think the big deal about the N20 MAP is that it physically bolts right in place of ours. A GM or other 3 bar should work, but the GM won't bolt right in place. You would need to run a vacuum line to it and mount remotely. Any 3 bar will need an electronic solution.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,751
    Rep Points
    31,550.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Eleventeen Click here to enlarge
    I think the big deal about the N20 MAP is that it physically bolts right in place of ours.
    That would explain the fascination.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Simi Valley, CA
    Posts
    8,006
    Rep Points
    8,957.3
    Mentioned
    633 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    90


    Reputation: Yes | No
    The connector is still different so we'd have to make an adulator, and its likely the IAT schedule is different, so net/net it might not wind up working out. Once I have one to test I'll be able to determine if it's better, worse, or the same as using any old 3Bar. The DVs are right there so it's easy to get a boost reference to a 3Bar. You have 5v and ground right there too from the TMAP harness.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,729
    Rep Points
    2,484.0
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    25


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Interesting.
    Click here to enlarge
    Join the largest N5X Enthusiasts Group! 1200+ Members Strong!
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/n5xenthusiasts/

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Miami Beach
    Posts
    1,092
    Rep Points
    513.1
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Terry you make it sound like its so easy lol why havent you come out with one yet for those that have the RB turbos etc
    Click here to enlarge

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Simi Valley, CA
    Posts
    8,006
    Rep Points
    8,957.3
    Mentioned
    633 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    90


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Just one of those things we haven't gotten around to yet.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1,914
    Rep Points
    1,353.5
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by lamia2super Click here to enlarge
    Terry you make it sound like its so easy lol why havent you come out with one yet for those that have the RB turbos etc
    Have you truly been missing 3bar sensor for your big twins?

  22. #22
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    860
    Rep Points
    1,537.7
    Mentioned
    26 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    16


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Terry@BMS Click here to enlarge
    The connector is still different so we'd have to make an adulator, and its likely the IAT schedule is different, so net/net it might not wind up working out. Once I have one to test I'll be able to determine if it's better, worse, or the same as using any old 3Bar. The DVs are right there so it's easy to get a boost reference to a 3Bar. You have 5v and ground right there too from the TMAP harness.
    So in reality, the bolt holes line up and that's about it LOL.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Simi Valley, CA
    Posts
    8,006
    Rep Points
    8,957.3
    Mentioned
    633 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    90


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Yeah don't see it as a holdup. They had a 3bar map on their car before. He also said he installed an entirely new engine wiring harness. What are they doing to that car? lol.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Miami Beach
    Posts
    1,092
    Rep Points
    513.1
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 654 Click here to enlarge
    Have you truly been missing 3bar sensor for your big twins?
    im dying to see what these cars are truly capable of doing !
    Click here to enlarge

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    columbia sc
    Posts
    282
    Rep Points
    935.0
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    10


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Is this only good for upgraded turbos or would this be useful for stock turbos. Terry or someone explain what this N20 map sensor means in regards to tuning, please.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •