Close

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: launching gear

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    288
    Rep Points
    187.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Reputation: Yes | No

    launching gear

    so why most people launch at 2nd gear??? why not 1st?
    Click here to enlarge

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    528
    Rep Points
    423.6
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Too much torque in first gear, subsequently causing traction problems.
    Click here to enlarge

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    MIAMI
    Posts
    995
    Rep Points
    199.0
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Reputation: Yes | No
    you can get a much better launch from second gear due to less wheel spin. Quicker grip, quicker 60', quicker run. Click here to enlarge

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    288
    Rep Points
    187.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2



    Reputation: Yes | No
    can i just feather the 1st gear?? wouldnt that be faster?
    Click here to enlarge

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    528
    Rep Points
    423.6
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by greatest335i Click here to enlarge
    can i just feather the 1st gear?? wouldnt that be faster?
    Nope, you can't. You'd be costing yourself valuable time in your run.
    Click here to enlarge

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,797
    Rep Points
    31,559.9
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Why don't people get longer gears? That is what I plan to do.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    288
    Rep Points
    187.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2



    Reputation: Yes | No
    is there any way to take out or disable the kick down button?
    Click here to enlarge

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13,460
    Rep Points
    58.0
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    i tried 2nd many times and saw no improvement, even worse times, so i don't know where that theory came from, excpet guys with like 4.10 in 600hp+ domestics

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,797
    Rep Points
    31,559.9
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by greatest335i Click here to enlarge
    is there any way to take out or disable the kick down button?
    There is a spring that you feel in the pedal but I believe the computer still checks the throttle position... so no.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    MIAMI
    Posts
    995
    Rep Points
    199.0
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Reputation: Yes | No
    I've heard of some people placing a small wooden block down there to prevent the pedal from hitting the kickdown button but this may only be for dynoing.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13,460
    Rep Points
    58.0
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    i velcro'd a small block down there so it stays put but still removavble.. now i don't need it but it worked

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Miami, FL.
    Posts
    1,895
    Rep Points
    771.0
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    Reputation: Yes | No
    i dont drag, and never have tried to launch in second. i have a 6mt, i guess this question was meant to autos? or im i just a scardy cat and too careful to snap the clutch
    Click here to enlarge
    2007 335i Coupe
    Mods: Check the Garage

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13,460
    Rep Points
    58.0
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    if your high enough on hp/tq in a MT you would/could start in 2nd.. but i don't think we are there just yet

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •