Close

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    919
    Rep Points
    780.4
    Mentioned
    42 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No

    Comparing BT Tool and Cobb AP - Help needed

    Hi guys,

    I need some one (dzenno?) who had the HPFP recall and software updated and also owns both the BT Tool and the Cobb AP to check something for me:

    Please, connect your BT tool and write down your last 6 digits of your Program Reference number for your ECU. It should look like this: I8A0S

    Then, connect your AP and check that the ECU ID that the Cobb AP is reporting is actually matching the one reported by the BT Tool.

    The reason why I am asking for this is because there are now two reported cases where the ECU Id does not match between BT Tool and Cobb AP. My BT Tool reports I860S and Cobb reports I8A0S. I am suspecting this is the reason why I've been seeing driveability issues with Cobb since day one, but I could be wrong.

    Thanks in advance!
    From all the things I've lost,
    I miss my mind the most!
    Click here to enlarge

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    557
    Rep Points
    785.8
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    Reputation: Yes | No
    When I get my new laptop (broke mine) I'll go check as well. COBB reports I have I8AOS
    Click here to enlarge

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    1,527
    Rep Points
    1,177.6
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Reputation: Yes | No
    did you try uninstall it, update your AP and reinstall it?
    07 335i AT - MOTIV 750 - MHD BMS E85 - BMS PI - JB4G5 - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - Helix IC - Stett CP - Custom midpipes with 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - LUX H8 - Level 10 AT upgrade
    Click here to enlarge

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    919
    Rep Points
    780.4
    Mentioned
    42 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Brey and enrita,

    Thanks for the quick responses. Yeah, I've tried everything. The AP always detects I8A0S. I really want to see what others are seeing.
    From all the things I've lost,
    I miss my mind the most!
    Click here to enlarge

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    6,677
    Rep Points
    3,327.5
    Mentioned
    225 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    34


    Reputation: Yes | No
    My AP also says I've got I8A0S...let u know about BT Vasil
    Click here to enlarge

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    919
    Rep Points
    780.4
    Mentioned
    42 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Thanks dzenno! I can't wait to find out what your BT Tool reports.
    From all the things I've lost,
    I miss my mind the most!
    Click here to enlarge

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    13
    Rep Points
    63.2
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Hey Gents,

    The ECU stores revisions to which it has been flashed by the BMW tools. Think of it as a log of the ECUs flash life. My guess is the Bav tool is not reading down the array of previous ROM revisions. If you request the top, you get the oldest version or what the ECU was first flashed too. I860S is quite old in the MSD80 world.

    Just FYI, In case anyone missed the other thread.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    919
    Rep Points
    780.4
    Mentioned
    42 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Jason,

    Thanks for chiming in! I appreciate the input. I've sent an email to Bavarian Technic and they want me to take a log of my session with BT and send it to them. At this point, they are neither denying nor confirming anything.

    When I get home I'll do a quick log and send it to them.

    In the mean time, I still would like to see users with Cobb and BT confirm this.

    Thanks
    From all the things I've lost,
    I miss my mind the most!
    Click here to enlarge

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    919
    Rep Points
    780.4
    Mentioned
    42 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8



    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Alright folks,

    I got some more information. Yes, COBB is absolutely correct! The BT Tool does not report the correct ECU program reference number. I managed to get INPA to communicate with my ECU and here is what I pulled out today:

    Click here to enlarge

    I've sent an email to Bavarian Technic and I pulled a log for them to look at. Hopefully this will be resolved soon!
    From all the things I've lost,
    I miss my mind the most!
    Click here to enlarge

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,680
    Rep Points
    31,507.8
    Mentioned
    2062 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by vasillalov Click here to enlarge
    Alright folks,

    I got some more information. Yes, COBB is absolutely correct! The BT Tool does not report the correct ECU program reference number. I managed to get INPA to communicate with my ECU and here is what I pulled out today:

    Click here to enlarge

    I've sent an email to Bavarian Technic and I pulled a log for them to look at. Hopefully this will be resolved soon!
    Some good contributions as of late.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    919
    Rep Points
    780.4
    Mentioned
    42 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8



    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    I just received an email response from Bavarian Technic about this issue. They confirm it! Their software detects the wrong (earliest) ECU program reference. They will be sending me a test file and if it works well, this will be fixed in the next release of the BT Tool Software (hopefully):

    Hello Vasil,

    Thank you for the log file. We find that the program reference displayed by the BT tool is the earliest. This is the reason for the difference.


    We might have a quick solution to this issue. We've made a small change to the file the tool uses to read this information from the MSD80/81 engine unit. If you would like to test the change to see if BT will display the correct information, let us know and we can send you this file for a quick test.
    From all the things I've lost,
    I miss my mind the most!
    Click here to enlarge

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,680
    Rep Points
    31,507.8
    Mentioned
    2062 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by vasillalov Click here to enlarge
    They will be sending me a test file and if it works well, this will be fixed in the next release of the BT Tool Software (hopefully):
    Hopefully and finally.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    225
    Rep Points
    173.2
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by vasillalov Click here to enlarge
    I just received an email response from Bavarian Technic about this issue. They confirm it! Their software detects the wrong (earliest) ECU program reference. They will be sending me a test file and if it works well, this will be fixed in the next release of the BT Tool Software (hopefully):
    good work Click here to enlarge

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    1,322
    Rep Points
    1,955.5
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by vasillalov Click here to enlarge
    I just received an email response from Bavarian Technic about this issue. They confirm it! Their software detects the wrong (earliest) ECU program reference. They will be sending me a test file and if it works well, this will be fixed in the next release of the BT Tool Software (hopefully):
    Great work.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •