Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 27
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    66
    Rep Points
    33.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No

    Anyone On Here Attempted An AEM F/IC On An M62 W/DME M5.2?

    I've never personally tried an F/IC, so I was thinking it would be fun to give it a shot on this car. I'd probably try to get a sacrificial DME for the case side of the connector and a sacrificial harness side connector so I could do a quick swap in or out, and then see if I could make everything work for a nice safe boost tune without CELs and whatnot.

    Heck, has anyone even tried an F/IC on ANY semi-recent Bimmer project? I think I remember George from ICS saying he may had at some point used on on an M62... Click here to enlarge I'll have to look that up.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,104
    Rep Points
    31,294.1
    Mentioned
    2055 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    313


    Reputation: Yes | No
    I would ask Neel@Apex regarding good ECU options.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,104
    Rep Points
    31,294.1
    Mentioned
    2055 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    313


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Oh, and ICS did an AEM M62? Never heard of that.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    66
    Rep Points
    33.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    I don't know what he did with the M62 he had the F/IC on, but he (George) offered me the wiring diagram a long time ago, like a couple of years now?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,104
    Rep Points
    31,294.1
    Mentioned
    2055 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    313


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by tjabo Click here to enlarge
    I don't know what he did with it, but he (George) offered me the wiring diagram a long time ago (a couple of years now?).
    He might still have it?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    66
    Rep Points
    33.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Possible, I'll ask.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    318
    Rep Points
    399.8
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    4


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    I've done some FIC work, though not with an M62. It hasn't worked as well as I like with Bosch ECUs. We tried it on some Porsche projects and the stock ECU was very good at undoing whatever we tried to do with the FIC. We also tried it with some Suzuki motorcycles and the results weren't very consistent. You will likely spend way more time trying to get it to work than you think...

    For an M62, standalones are a great choice. The chassis they were used in weren't heavily CAN-bus oriented so chassis integration is pretty good. A Vi-PEC V88 is the perfect ECU for these.

    -Neel
    Neel Vasavada
    Apex Speed Technology
    2947 S Sepulveda Blvd
    Los Angeles, CA 90064
    310.314.2005 (p)
    310.496.0951 (f)
    www.apexspeedtech.com
    info@apexspeedtech.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,104
    Rep Points
    31,294.1
    Mentioned
    2055 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    313


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Apex Speed Technology Click here to enlarge
    For an M62, standalones are a great choice. The chassis they were used in weren't heavily CAN-bus oriented so chassis integration is pretty good. A Vi-PEC V88 is the perfect ECU for these.
    Just a question I have had, if one was to swap an M62 into another BMW chassis, could the Vi-PEC V88 be used as well? As long as it isn't one of the new I-drive and DCT cars obviously.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    318
    Rep Points
    399.8
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    4


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Just a question I have had, if one was to swap an M62 into another BMW chassis, could the Vi-PEC V88 be used as well? As long as it isn't one of the new I-drive and DCT cars obviously.
    Yep, and if its an OBDI chassis, you could likely make it interface just as stock.
    Neel Vasavada
    Apex Speed Technology
    2947 S Sepulveda Blvd
    Los Angeles, CA 90064
    310.314.2005 (p)
    310.496.0951 (f)
    www.apexspeedtech.com
    info@apexspeedtech.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    66
    Rep Points
    33.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Apex Speed Technology Click here to enlarge
    For an M62, standalones are a great choice. The chassis they were used in weren't heavily CAN-bus oriented so chassis integration is pretty good. A Vi-PEC V88 is the perfect ECU for these.

    -Neel
    Thank you!

    I *believe* the DME M5.2 as used in the e39 540i would be one of the lower end ecu's used with the M62, so I'd suppose your statement would be especially likely to be true as compared even to one of the later e39s?

    One reason I was champing at the bit to try an FIC was for the sensor spoofing capabilities to assist in keeping a stock-ish drivetrain function with respect to check engine lights and other such things. On a quick glance at the ViPec information, while it looks like an awesome ECU, I don't see any spoofing capabilities for MAF or O2 sensors. Would a person potentially be able to simply clamp the MAF signal and use an EFIE or something like that to emulate O2 signals?

    Or might that be the real beauty of the FIC, and would it have that sort of benefit when used in conjunction with a standalone since the FIC couldn't be trusted to keep the ECU from adapting?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    318
    Rep Points
    399.8
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    4


    Reputation: Yes | No
    FIC was for the sensor spoofing capabilities to assist in keeping a stock-ish drivetrain function with respect to check engine lights and other such thing
    To get that to work, be prepared to do a lot of data logging to find out what the stock sensors want to see. We thought this was straightforward too, but it turned out you need to see how a STOCK car works. So you're really putting an FIC onto an unmodified car first, running it to make sure all the sensor spoofing it good, then doing your mods. Its time consuming to get right, and since you can't hit ever operating situation, not always 100% effective.

    On a quick glance at the ViPec information, while it looks like an awesome ECU, I don't see any spoofing capabilities for MAF or O2 sensors. Would a person potentially be able to simply clamp the MAF signal and use an EFIE or something like that to emulate O2 signals
    Sure doesn't. Your best bet is to leave the stock ECU in place to drive the dash and get someone to turn off the trouble codes.

    Or might that be the real beauty of the FIC, and would it have that sort of benefit when used in conjunction with a standalone since the FIC couldn't be trusted to keep the ECU from adapting?
    Since AEM has had success with the FIC, there's definitely lots of value there. The issues is that you don't know how well it will work until you try. The good news is its cheap enough to walk away from if it gets to be too much work.

    -Neel
    Neel Vasavada
    Apex Speed Technology
    2947 S Sepulveda Blvd
    Los Angeles, CA 90064
    310.314.2005 (p)
    310.496.0951 (f)
    www.apexspeedtech.com
    info@apexspeedtech.com

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    66
    Rep Points
    33.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Apex Speed Technology Click here to enlarge
    Your best bet is to leave the stock ECU in place to drive the dash and get someone to turn off the trouble codes.
    You mean repeatedly/forever, right?

    Thanks for a fantastic batch of information there Neel!!!
    Last edited by tjabo; 06-05-2011 at 07:47 PM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    318
    Rep Points
    399.8
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    4


    Reputation: Yes | No
    You mean repeatedly/forever, right?
    No, not at all. There are people who can disable trouble codes so they never come on.

    -neel
    Neel Vasavada
    Apex Speed Technology
    2947 S Sepulveda Blvd
    Los Angeles, CA 90064
    310.314.2005 (p)
    310.496.0951 (f)
    www.apexspeedtech.com
    info@apexspeedtech.com

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    66
    Rep Points
    33.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Apex Speed Technology Click here to enlarge
    No, not at all. There are people who can disable trouble codes so they never come on.

    -neel
    Oh damn -- that's cool!

    Is this sort of thing one of the secrets of the Bimmer world like the few guys who have figured out how to hack the tune in the DME, or something that's more common knowledge/attainable info?

    This bit of info erases any thoughts of running the F/IC, but I do like to do stuff myself, so it would be nice if this trouble code erasure can be handled by ediabas/inpa/ADS or something...

    And thanks again!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    58
    Rep Points
    58.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Call Scott Onishi at The Shop.

    (423) 245-1531

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,104
    Rep Points
    31,294.1
    Mentioned
    2055 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    313


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Bimmerbear Click here to enlarge
    Call Scott Onishi at The Shop.

    (423) 245-1531
    Sorry who at what shop?

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    318
    Rep Points
    399.8
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    4


    Reputation: Yes | No
    The great thing about the FI/C is its so well priced that if you try it and can't get it to work, you haven't lost much except for your time. It works exceptionally on some vehicles and is worth a shot. The problem is it doesn't work well on all vehicles, and I'm not sure you can tell for sure without trying.

    -Neel
    Neel Vasavada
    Apex Speed Technology
    2947 S Sepulveda Blvd
    Los Angeles, CA 90064
    310.314.2005 (p)
    310.496.0951 (f)
    www.apexspeedtech.com
    info@apexspeedtech.com

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    58
    Rep Points
    58.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    Sorry who at what shop?
    Scott Onishi. The shop is called The Shop.

    www.garagetheshop.com

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,104
    Rep Points
    31,294.1
    Mentioned
    2055 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    313


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Bimmerbear Click here to enlarge
    Scott Onishi. The shop is called The Shop.

    www.garagetheshop.com
    I see, and he has done AEM M62 setups?

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    58
    Rep Points
    58.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    I see, and he has done AEM M62 setups?
    He's done a few mid-mount turbo 540s with the FIC.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,104
    Rep Points
    31,294.1
    Mentioned
    2055 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    313


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Bimmerbear Click here to enlarge
    He's done a few mid-mount turbo 540s with the FIC.
    That's awesome! We need to find out more about those setups, how much boost, who hast them, power numbers, etc.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    66
    Rep Points
    33.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Some pics would be phenomenal! Also scavenge pump setup versus Comp brand oilless CHRA turbos would be super info to have.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    58
    Rep Points
    58.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by tjabo Click here to enlarge
    Some pics would be phenomenal! Also scavenge pump setup versus Comp brand oilless CHRA turbos would be super info to have.
    I don't know of any pics, videos, or anyone who has one. He used the Comp 60mm oilless turbos though.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,104
    Rep Points
    31,294.1
    Mentioned
    2055 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    313


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Bimmerbear Click here to enlarge
    I don't know of any pics, videos, or anyone who has one. He used the Comp 60mm oilless turbos though.
    How do you know these exist then?

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    58
    Rep Points
    58.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    How do you know these exist then?
    Just because there's no internet documentation on them doesn't mean they don't exist. Call him yourself and abate your skepticism.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •