Close

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,669
    Rep Points
    31,505.9
    Mentioned
    2062 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No

    2010 on E93 (convertible) M3 with "locked" ECU dyno test featuring OE Tuning tune only

    The E93 M3 in question here is a manual. It is completely stock and on 91 octane pump gas. The reason the year is emphasized as being a 2010 on is due to the tuner lockout software BMW implemented to try to stop tuning with cars featuring 2010 and up build dates. These locked ECU's have stopped some tuners but the as the graph and video here shows OE Tuning is able to circumvent the lockout and custom dyno tune the car. Gains are shown throughout the curve with a healthy 21 wheel horsepower at peak, tune only.

    Click here to enlarge

    Click here to enlarge

    Video:


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,166
    Rep Points
    1,746.4
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    18


    Reputation: Yes | No
    some good gains.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,669
    Rep Points
    31,505.9
    Mentioned
    2062 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by akh23456 Click here to enlarge
    some good gains.
    Yep, solid gains throughout.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    809
    Rep Points
    604.4
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Nice, breaking the boundaries! Click here to enlarge

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    278
    Rep Points
    146.2
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Reputation: Yes | No
    That is good work. The Cabriolet needs some more hp
    as the RHT Click here to enlargeweight is a huge penalty. Add some hardware and it would be even more beefy. Click here to enlarge

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    177
    Rep Points
    213.5
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Does the ECU have to be removed to tune? Good gains!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,669
    Rep Points
    31,505.9
    Mentioned
    2062 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by M&M Click here to enlarge
    Does the ECU have to be removed to tune? Good gains!
    Good question but wouldn't you know being a tuner?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    878
    Rep Points
    891.7
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Tuner proof can be done with a certain cable in person. But most would need to send in that aren't local to this tool as it is several thousand dollars and licensed to the computer - not something that is portable without a major deposit.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,669
    Rep Points
    31,505.9
    Mentioned
    2062 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by BrenM3 Click here to enlarge
    Tuner proof can be done with a certain cable in person. But most would need to send in that aren't local to this tool as it is several thousand dollars and licensed to the computer - not something that is portable without a major deposit.
    I see, interesting.

    Can't someone just set their ECU back to an older revision so they don't have to send it in?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    878
    Rep Points
    891.7
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    I see, interesting.

    Can't someone just set their ECU back to an older revision so they don't have to send it in?
    Well that's essentially what the tuner proof cable does, writes to a pre-lock version. BMW does not go backwards with updates. You can only write the latest and greatest.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,669
    Rep Points
    31,505.9
    Mentioned
    2062 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by BrenM3 Click here to enlarge
    Well that's essentially what the tuner proof cable does, writes to a pre-lock version. BMW does not go backwards with updates. You can only write the latest and greatest.
    I see, so they get the cable and do whatever needs to be done then it can be remotely flashed. If they don't use the cable, send the ECU in, right?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    878
    Rep Points
    891.7
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Correct it would need to back-dated first.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •